My Lady Jane

22840421Have you ever read a book because everyone is talking about? Only to discover that it’s completely boring and you’re not really sure why everyone is reading it? This is not that book! My Lady Jane has been floating around the interwebs taunting me with it’s youthful cover and intriguing title. Being a history nerd, I felt it was my duty to give this book a try. Somehow despite all of this I didn’t know much about the book other than it entered around the short lived reign of Jane Grey (or Queen Jane, not sure how to use her title).

The start of this book had me in stitches and it didn’t stop there. From the pop culture references to the liberty the authors took with history My Lady Jane quickly shot to a five star in my book.

Switching between the characters of Jane, Edward and Gifford (or G, as he likes to be called), the reader is transported to a different and more magical time when grand balls were the norm and Eðians roamed. What’s an Eðians you might ask? You’ll just have to read the book to find out.

The narrators of this story were some of my favorite parts. They gave the story a structure and interjected comments about the characters when needed, making for a jovial tale.

I leave you with just a taste of the book.

“Dedication – For everyone who knows there was enough room for Leonardo DiCaprio on that door. And for England. We’re really sorry for what we’re about to do to your history.”

And

“Because he was English and that’s what the English do under stress: they drink tea.”

Now please go out and read this book!

Just do it.

Leave a comment